The Leslie S. Ettre Award   

The organizers of the International Symposium on Capillary Chromatography are pleased to announce that PerkinElmer is once again generously sponsoring the Leslie S. Ettre Award at this year's meetings. The award is a cash grant of $2,500 US, a $500 US travel grant to attend the next ISCC meeting in Riva del Garda, Italy in 2020, as well as the opportunity to give an oral presentation at next year's meeting.



The Jury for the Award will be chaired by Dr. Samuel Tolley of Perkin Elmer and includes six to eight prominent scientists as well as previous winners.  The winner will be announced at the closing sessions of the Symposium.  All presenters of both oral and poster presentations related to capillary gas chromatography who are less than 35 years of age or younger at the time of the meeting are eligible.  Please indicate your eligibility at the time of registration.




The Marcel Golay Award

The Marcel Golay award was instituted in honor of the inventor of capillary columns, Marcel Jules Eduard Golay,  As one of the pioneers of gas chromatography, Dr. Golay was responsible for introducing the theory of dispersion in open tubular columns (capillary columns) and demonstrated their efficacy in 1958 at the second International Symposium on Gas Chromatography.  By 1962, Dr. Golay joined PerkinElmer as a senior scientist and invented the Golay infrared sensor, the most sensitive infrared sensor available at the time. Dr. Golay's invention played a part in establishing PerkinElmer as a major source of infrared technology. He also examined the properties of various chromatography sampling systems andextended the theory of preparative columns.  As a result, the open tubular gas chromatography column is still the most popular analytical gas chromatography column in use today. Dr. Golay remained at PerkinElmer as a senior scientist and worked there until his death until 1989.  The 2019 Golay Award will be presented at the opening ceremony of the International Symposium on Gas Chromatography (ISCC).  


Recent winners of the Golay Award include the following:

2018 Dr. Leonid M. Blumberg (Advachrom, Wilmington, DE, USA)

2017 Dr. Luigi Mondello (University of Messina, Italy)

2016 Dr. Robert Synovec (University of Washingtonm USA)

2015 Dr. Harold McNair (Viginia Tech, USA)
Dr. Thomas Welsch (Ulm University, Germany)

More information about the awards is available on the PerkinElmer website at the following link:

Perkin Elmer Awards Information - Marcel Golay & Leslie Ettrie Awards


This award was instituted to recognize an experienced scientist what has made pioneering contributions in promoting GCxGC instrumentation, method development, and/or applications.  As a result of the generous support of LECO, the 2019 GCxGC Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented during the opening session of GCxGC 2019 followed by the winner’s award lecture.

2018 Winner
Dr. Jean-Francois Focant
University of Liège, Liège, Belgium



The late Professor John Bruce Phillips of Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, in conjunction with his then graduate student, Dr. Zaiyou Liu, invented the comprehensive two dimensional gas chromatograpy, or GC x GC.  The Phillips Award will be awarded to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of GC x GC analysis in Prof. Phillips' honor.

This year's award is proudly sponsored by LECO.  It is with great pleasure that the winner is Dr. Flavio Franchina of Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire USA.


Dr. Flavio Franchina
Dartmouth College, USA


The GiorgiO Nota Award

Instituted in honor of Giorgio Nota, who first introduced open tubular LC, the Giorgio Nota award is presented to a scientist in recognition of a lifetime of achievement in capillary liquid chromatography.  We look forward to presenting this award again in 2019 and are pleased to highlight the accomplishments of the 2018 winner, Dr. Hernan Cortes of Hernan Cortes Consulting, LLC and formerly of Dow Chemical.

2018 Winner
Dr. Hernan Cortes
Hernan Cortes Consulting LLC, USA




Chromaleont, an enterprise associated at the University of Messina, as made several scholarships for young scientists available for 2019.  You must be a student traveling from outside the United States to be eligible. There will be six awards granted in 2019 (four for ISCC and two for GCxGC). To apply, please complete the following application form and return it to The deadline to apply is February 15, 2019. Applicants must have an abstract submitted for an oral or poster presentation and must be PhD candidates or academic post-docs. 


CASSS will provide a limited number of travel grants for PhD candidates and academic postdocs presenting posters and/or talks at the ISCC and GCxGC symposium in Fort Worth. Interested candidates must be the first author and presenter at the conference. Students and postdocs may apply on the CASSS website and will need to furnish a lletter requesting consideration for the grant, a letter of recommendation from the advisor, and a PDF of your submitted abstract. Only registered students and postdocs will receive the funds. Deadline for submission of the applications is February 20, 2019. Selected candidates will be notified within 3 weeks after the deadline..